Welcome to Portuguese Cook


Let me begin why I started this blog, well for one,  I couldn’t find any relevant information on the internet on the homestyle Portuguese cooking that I grew up with. In fact, most of what I came across were chef’s versions of popular dishes. I believe there really are many variations of Portuguese recipes, depending on the regions of Portugal, or for that matter,  the Portuguese speaking colonies around the world.
I must admit, I prefer meals that are low fat, healthy,  flavourful, quick and easy.  Some Portuguese recipes, although flavourful, can be very rich, high in fat and very labour intensive.  I just think it needs a little updating with some modern adaptations for today’s busy lifestyles. What I am hoping is to learn my parents’  authentic home style cooking,  and adjust to my own healthy & time saving  values.  Also, I find it interesting and a goal of mine to blend recipes with other cultures to create a multi-cultural fusion to Portuguese cooking, hence the Portuguese pizza.
I think it`s important  to me  to embrace and respect my heritage  through one of my deep appreciations – the world of food. I mean, let`s face it, we all have  to cook everyday, we are what we eat. I thought, what better way to honour my parents’ legacy than to share that interest with them while learning about the diversity of the culture.  Also,  it`s a topic I can talk about with them without going deaf, and if you know my parents they are not soft spoken…very loud, expressive and passionate people…especially my dad. I feel  I am a cross of two worlds, the old and the new. The Old country and my Canadian born identity.

There will be some more recipes that I shall be sharing on this blog shortly. Although, with all recipes it’s all about trial and error. Most good cooks, measure by eye and taste, never exact… because you have to taste as you cook. It’s not quite a science, it’s more of an evolving art.  Here are some interesting ones just to name a few, and pardon the spelling since I could not find the Pôrtuguese accent keys:

Linguica and potatoes, Collards soup, green bean stew, green pea stew, Octopus stew, Liver and onions, Portuguese pizza, Portuguese style corn bread, Sweet Portuguese  bread, Portuguese style chicken, Cod fish casserole, cod cakes, seafood stew, Lentil stew  and there`s plenty more. But remember, there`s many ways to Portuguese meals, that is part of the point to this blog. As a matter of fact, some of the best meals I’ve had were made by amateur cooks. So really amateurs have a lot to contribute, whether they realize it or not.  So that is what I would like to discover. Can you tell I am Portuguese, I am ready to explore somewhat unchartered waters… truly a traditional taste,  with new world charm.

Be back soon !!

M.  Dasilva

Email: ask@portuguesecook.com

Subscribe to The Portuguese Cook Channel on Youtube for updates on my latest videos on food, wine and culture, here’s the link:

http://www.youtube.com/user/ThePortugueseCook

Join our  facebook fan page A Portuguese Cook – The series  and share the journey in popularizing Portuguese food.

http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/pages/A-Portuguese-Cook-The-Series/10150102910800112?v=wall&ref=nf

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ciara
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 01:49:07

    Hello Mannie!
    Congratulations on your Blog!
    I like everything I see here!
    What you wrote about you. Your way of writing. And your recepies!
    I love to cook and I’ll be back soon.
    Ciara

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Small Country ….Global Impact « Portuguese Cook's Blog
  3. Randy
    Dec 02, 2009 @ 14:42:18

    Hey Mannie these recipes are awesome…..I can smell them from here. Both my inlaws are now gone to the big kitchen upstairs, but these dishes will certainly allow me to bring them back to life…….thanks.

    Reply

  4. Randy
    Dec 02, 2009 @ 14:43:40

    You really have a great way with words…very eloquent and captures the moments…..good stuff!!

    Reply

  5. Roxanne
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 00:58:55

    Hi Mannie,
    I tried a recipe you published in the Sideroads magazine.
    My son’s in-laws are Portuguese and I always wanted to know
    how to cook authentic dishes.
    Everyone loved the Portuguese Chicken! My son said it
    was even better than his mother-in-law’s version!
    *****

    Reply

    • portuguesecook
      Aug 23, 2010 @ 01:40:27

      That is so wonderful to hear ! The key is to use fresh, fresh ingredients including an organic chicken if at all possible. You can always use it to marinade chicken wings as well, be as versatile as you can…Cheers my friend !!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

